Press Advisory: McSilver Awards to Honor Vanguards for Social Justice on June 10th

Portraits of all six 2019 Honorees

Meek Mill, Malcolm Jenkins, Yamiche Alcindor, Jose Antonio Vargas, Sayu Bhojwani, and Reshma Saujani will accept awards.


Contact: Sheryl Huggins Salomon,

NEW YORK (May 21, 2019) — The McSilver Institute for Poverty Policy and Research at New York University (NYU) will hold its seventh annual McSilver Awards on June 10, 2019, 6:00 – 9:00 p.m. EDT, at the Rosenthal Pavilion atop NYU’s Kimmel Center, 60 Washington Square South in Manhattan, New York City. Each year, we recognize several Vanguards for Social Justice who are prominent in their fields and unafraid to use their platforms to help create a more equitable and just world.

Our 2019 honorees include:

  • Yamiche Alcindor, White House Correspondent of PBS NewsHour and Political Contributor, NBC News and MSNBC
  • Sayu Bhojwani, Founder and President of New American Leaders and Former Commissioner of Immigrant Affairs for New York City
  • Malcolm Jenkins, Safety for the Philadelphia Eagles and Co-Founder of the Players Coalition
    Reshma Saujani, Founder and CEO of Girls Who Code and Former Deputy Public Advocate for New York City
  • Jose Antonio Vargas, Founder of Define American and Producer of the Tony-nominated play What the Constitution Means to Me
  • Robert “Meek Mill” Williams, multiplatinum hip-hop artist and Founding Partner and Co-Chair of The Reform Alliance

Also joining the program to introduce our 2019 honorees are the following past honorees and luminaries: Erica Ford, CEO and Founder of LIFE Camp Inc.; Maria Hinojosa, Founder of Futuro Media Group; Ana Oliveira, president and CEO of the New York Women’s Foundation; and Dr. Christina Greer, Associate Professor of Political Science at Fordham University, FAQ NYC Co-host, MSNBC Contributor and the 2018 McSilver Fellow-in-Residence.

More information about the honorees and purchasing tickets is at


The McSilver Institute for Poverty Policy and Research at New York University is committed to creating new knowledge about the root causes of poverty, developing evidence-based interventions to address its consequences, and rapidly translating research findings into action through policy and best practices. Each year it holds the McSilver Awards, recognizing extraordinary leaders transforming systems to tackle structural poverty and oppression. Learn more at and sign up for updates.